Council

13 November 2012

Update from Cllr John Noeken, Cabinet member for Resources Parliamentary Boundary Review

- The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) is responsible for reviewing Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.
- The 2013 review will reduce the number of constituencies from 533 to 502, and in the South West this will reduce the number of constituencies from 55 to 53.
- The new constituencies will all contain between 72,810 and 80,473.
- Following publication of the BCE's initial proposals in September 2011, the BCE has now published its revised proposals.
- Under these revised proposals, 29 of the 53 constituencies in the south west are due to be revised from the initial proposals
- The BCE is consulting between 16 October and 10 December 2012 on their revised proposals.

For Councillors' ease of reference, the article below was published in the 19 October edition of Elected Wire:

Article in Elected Wire - 19 October 2012

Revised Parliamentary boundary proposals

The revised boundary proposals can be found on the Boundary Commission for England website, with Dorset and Wiltshire sub-region detailed from p34, para AC96 onwards

- A cross county constituency is unavoidable
- The Lavingtons and Erlestoke to remain in Devizes constituency
- Till and Wylye Valley restored to Salisbury constituency
- Tisbury moved to Warminster and Shaftesbury constituency
- Lyneham moved to Chippenham constituency from Devizes
- Ethandune moved to Warminster and Shaftesbury constituency
- Corsham Town and Corsham Pickwick to be moved in to Trowbridge constituency
- Box and Colerne to be moved in to Chippenham constituency
- Proposed Chippenham constituency to be renamed North Wiltshire
- Proposed Trowbridge constituency to be renamed West Wiltshire

The electorates after all of these changes would be:

- Devizes 77,319
- North Wiltshire 75,229
- Salisbury 77,465
- Warminster and Shaftesbury 72,973
- West Wiltshire 77,305

Comments to

www.consultation.boundarycommissionforengland.independent.gov.uk or southwest@bcommengland.x.gsi.gov.uk from 16 October to 10 December